Skip to main content
Prolific author Walter Mosley

Walter Mosley Awarded LIfetime Achievement Honor

In September, The National Book Foundation announced that it will award Walter Mosley the Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Literature. Mosley is the thirty-third recipient of this award and the first African American man to receive the award in it's thirty-three year history.  The award will be presented to Mosley by two-time National Book Award Finalist Edwidge Danticat.

Walter Mosley’s debut novel Devil in a Blue Dress was the first in the bestselling mystery series set in Los Angeles featuring detective Easy Rawlins.  The series launched Mosley into literary prominence. Mosley has won numerous awards, including an O. Henry Award, The Mystery Writers of America’s Grand Master Award, a Grammy®, several NAACP Image awards, and PEN America’s Lifetime Achievement Award. In 2020, he was named the recipient of the Robert Kirsch Award for lifetime achievement from the Los Angeles Times Festival of Books. 




Sign up receive news and updates.

* indicates required